Bulgarian Alphabet

By September 18, 2023No Comments

The Bulgarian alphabet is a captivating journey through history, culture, and linguistic identity.

The Bulgarian alphabet is based on the Cyrillic script, which was created by Saints Cyril and Methodius, two Byzantine brothers, in the 9th century. This script was specifically tailored to the needs of the Slavic languages and later adapted for the Bulgarian language.

Bulgarian Cyrillic features 30 letters, some of which are not found in other Cyrillic alphabets. One distinct feature is the letter “ъ” (called “yer” or “ер малък”), which represents a short, unaccented vowel sound similar to the English “uh.”

These are the 30 letters that make up the Bulgarian Cyrillic alphabet. Each letter represents a specific sound in the Bulgarian language.

А (a)
Б (b)
В (v)
Г (g)
Д (d)
Е (e)
Ж (zh)
З (z)
И (i)
Й (y)
К (k)
Л (l)
М (m)
Н (n)
О (o)
П (p)
Р (r)
С (s)
Т (t)
У (u)
Ф (f)
Х (kh)
Ц (ts)
Ч (ch)
Ш (sh)
Щ (sht)
Ъ (a with a short sound)
Ь (yery)
Ю (yu)
Я (ya)

Ads Blocker Image Powered by Code Help Pro

Hi There!

Please disable your adblocker or whitelist this site!

We rely on advertising revenue to support the operation and maintenance of this website. By disabling your adblocker or whitelisting our site, you ensure that we can continue providing free and valuable content. We understand that ads can be intrusive at times, but they are an essential part of keeping our services accessible to everyone.

To disable your adblocker or whitelist our site, please follow the instructions specific to your adblocker software or browser. Once you\"ve made the necessary changes, refresh the page to continue enjoying our content without any interruptions.

Thank you for your understanding and support!